Home Biography Research Publications Members Links


Nicewicz Group


JUNE 2014

  • Dave earns an NSF Career Award.

MAY 2014

  • Dave is selected as recipient of the 2014 Amgen Young Investigators' Award.
  • Dale Wilger, Jean-Marc Grandjean and Taylor Lammert's paper on the anti-Markovnikov addition of mineral acids to styrenes is accepted for publication at Nature Chem.
  • Nate Gesmundo's article on the synthesis of endoperoxides via cascade reactions of dienes is accepted for publication in Beilstein J. Org. Chem. for a special issue on photoredox catalysis.

APRIL 2014

  • Kaila Margrey is selected as a National Science Foundation Graduate Fellowship Honorable Mention Awardee.

MARCH 2014

  • Tien Nguyen and Namita Manohar's publication on the synthesis of phenethylamine derivatives via organic photoredox catalysis is accepted for publication in Angew. Chem. Int. Ed.


  • Our Synpacts article on anti-Markovnikov alkene hydroalkoxylation is accepted for publication in Synlett.


  • Our Viewpoint article on Organic Photoredox Catalysis is accepted to ACS Catalysis.


  • Dave is the 2013 recipient of the Boehringer Ingelheim New Investigator Award


  • Welcome to the lab, new members: Cortney Cavanaugh, Cole Cruz, Jeremy Griffin, and Kaila Margrey

JULY 2013

  • Andrew Perkowski's manuscript on anti-Markovnikov additions of carboxylic acids to alkenes is accepted for publication in J. Am. Chem. Soc.

JUNE 2013

  • Tien Nguyen's alkene anti-Markovnikov hydroamination paper is accepted for publication in J. Am. Chem. Soc.

MAY 2013

  • Dale Wilger and Nate Gesmundo's manuscript on Catalytic Alkene Hydrotrifluoromethylation is accepted for publication in Chemical Science.

APRIL 2013

  • Michelle Riener's paper on lignan syntheses via [2+2] alkene cycloaddition reactions is accepted for publication in Chemical Science.
  • David Hamilton and Tien Nguyen's ACS presentations were highlighted in a C&E News article.
  • Congratulations to Jean-Marc Grandjean, who was awarded a UNC Dissertation Completion Fellowship.


  • Jean-Marc Grandjean's paper on polar-radical cycloadditions is accepted for
    publication in Angew. Chem. Int. Ed.
  • Undergraduates Taylor Lammert and Namita Manohar join the lab.


  • NSF pre-doctoral fellow Nate Romero joins the lab.
  • Dave Hamilton's paper on the anti-Markovnikov hydroetherification of alkenols
    is accepted to J. Am. Chem. Soc..
  • Dave Nicewicz is named a 2012 Packard Fellow.


  • Post-doctoral researcher Dale Wilger joins the lab.
  • Graduate student Mary Zeller joins the lab.

JULY 2011

  • The Nicewicz Laboratory receives NIH funding for cation radical-mediated reactions.