Department of Chemistry

Faculty by Name

Alexanian, Erik Associate Professor; Director of Undergraduate Studies
Synthetic Organic and Organometallic Chemistry, Catalysis
eja@email.unc.edu
919-962-4976
919-962-2388 (fax)
Murray Hall 2202H
Erik Alexanian
Allbritton, Nancy Debreczeny Distinguished Professor
Professor and Chair of UNC/NCSU Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering
Director, Curriculum of Applied Science and Engineering
Signaling in Single Cells, Microfabricated Systems for Cellular Analysis
nlallbri@email.unc.edu
919-966-2291
919-962-2388 (fax)
Chapman 241
Nancy Allbritton
Ashby, Valerie Professor & Department Chair
Polymer Design & Synthesis, Polymer Composites, Biomaterial Synthesis
ashby@email.unc.edu
919-962-4358
919-962-2388 (fax)
Caudill 239
Valerie Ashby
Atkin, Joanna Assistant Professor
Near-field optics and imaging, Tip-enhanced spectroscopy, Plasmonics
jatkin@live.unc.edu
919-962-2174
919-962-2388 (fax)
TBA
Joanna Atkin
Austell, Todd Research Assistant Professor
Chemistry Education, Curriculum Development, Academic Advising
tlaustell2014@unc.edu
919-962-9429
919-962-2388 (fax)
Kenan C142
Todd Austell
Baer, Tomas Kenan Professor of Chemistry
Kinetics, Mass Spectrometry, Environmental Chemistry
baer@unc.edu
919-962-1580
919-962-2388 (fax)
Caudill 119
Tomas Baer
Berkowitz, Max Professor
Theoretical and Computational Chemistry and Biophysical Chemistry
maxb@unc.edu
919-962-1218
919-962-2388 (fax)
Caudill 017
Max Berkowitz
Brookhart, Maurice Professor of Chemistry
Synthetic Organometallic Chemistry, Catalysis
mbrookhart@unc.edu
919-962-0362
919-962-2388 (fax)
Kenan A404
Maurice Brookhart
Brustad, Eric Assistant Professor
Biocatalysis, Chemical Biology, Protein Engineering
brustad@unc.edu
919-962-4487
919-962-2388 (fax)
GSB 3260
Eric Brustad
Cahoon, James Assistant Professor
Nanomaterials/Nanowire Synthesis, Solar & Thermal Energy, Photonics
jfcahoon@unc.edu
919-962-3386
919-962-2388 (fax)
Caudill 019
James Cahoon
Crimmins, Michael Mary Ann Smith Professor of Chemistry
Total Synthesis of Natural Products
crimmins@email.unc.edu
919-966-5177
919-962-2388 (fax)
Kenan C640
Michael Crimmins
Dempsey, Jillian Assistant Professor
Inorganic Spectroscopy and Solar Energy Conversion
dempseyj@email.unc.edu
919-962-4617
919-962-2388 (fax)
Kenan C440
Jillian Dempsey
DeSimone, Joseph Chancellor's Eminent Professor of Chemistry, UNC;
William R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering, NCSU
Nanomedicine, Medical Devices, Green Chemistry
desimone@unc.edu
919-962-2166
919-962-5467 (fax)
Caudill 257
Joseph DeSimone
Erie, Dorothy Professor
Scanning Force Microscopy, Biological Chemistry
derie@email.unc.edu
919-962-6370
919-962-2388 (fax)
GSB 4360
Dorothy Erie
Forbes, Malcolm Professor
Spin, Donor-Acceptor and Polymer Degradation Chemistry
mdef@unc.edu
919-962-1696
919-962-2388 (fax)
Caudill 020
Malcolm Forbes
Freeman, Thomas Lecturer
Chemistry Education
tcfreema@email.unc.edu
919-962-8037
919-962-2388 (fax)
Kenan 147A
Thomas Freeman
Gagné, Michel Mary Ann Smith Distinguished Professor of Chemistry
Catalysis, Synthetic Methods, Synthetic Receptors, Biofuels
mgagne@unc.edu
919-962-6341
919-962-2388 (fax)
Caudill 218
Michel Gagné
Glish, Gary Professor
Mass Spectrometry, Ion Chemistry, Biomolecule Analysis
glish@unc.edu
919-962-2303
919-962-2388 (fax)
Caudill 320
Gary Glish
Hicks, Leslie Assistant Professor
Proteomics, Posttranslational Modifications, Mass Spectrometry
lmhicks@unc.edu
919-843-6903
919-962-2388 (fax)
Kenan A221
Leslie Hicks
Hogan, Brian Research Assistant Professor
Biochemistry Education & Undergraduate Research Skills Development
hoganb@email.unc.edu
919-962-4746
919-962-2388 (fax)
Kenan B830
Brian Hogan
Johnson, Charles Professor
Biomedical applications of NMR and Electrophoretic Light Scattering (ELS)
charles_johnson@unc.edu
919-966-5229
919-962-2388 (fax)
Caudill 018
Charles Johnson
Johnson, Jeff A. Ronald Gallant Distinguished Professor; Vice Chair for Diversity
Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Asymmetric Catalysis
jsj@unc.edu
919-843-4936
919-962-2388 (fax)
Caudill 220
Jeff Johnson
Jorgenson, James W. R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Chemistry
Analytical Separations, Capillary Electrophoresis, Capillary Liquid Chromatography
jj@unc.edu
919-966-5071
919-962-2388 (fax)
Kenan A308
James Jorgenson
Kanai, Yosuke Assistant Professor
Theoretical/Computational Chemistry, Chemical and Materials Physics
ykanai@unc.edu
919-962-3891
919-962-2388 (fax)
Caudill 018
Yosuke Kanai
Kohn, Harold Kenan Professor
Design, Synthesis, and Evaluation of New Therapeutic Agents
hal_kohn@unc.edu
919-843-8112
919-962-2388 (fax)
Beard Hall 325
Harold Kohn
Kropp, Paul Professor
Synthetic Organic Methods, Surface-Mediated Chemistry
kropp@unc.edu
919-962-6294
919-962-2388 (fax)
Kenan C147C
Paul Kropp
Krumper, Jennifer Lecturer
Chemistry Education
jkrumper@unc.edu
919-966-3869
919-962-2388 (fax)
Kenan C147F
Jennifer Krumper
Lawrence, David Fred Eshelman Distinguished Professor
Chemical Biology
lawrencd@email.unc.edu
919-962-8907
919-962-2388 (fax)
Kenan A508
David Lawrence
Li, Bo Assistant Professor
Chemical Biology, Natural Product Biosynthesis and Discovery
boli@email.unc.edu
919-843-4436
919-962-2388 (fax)
GSB 3256
Bo Li
Lockett, Matthew Assistant Professor
Surface Chemistry, 3D Cell Culture Systems, Analytical Sensors, Molecular Recognition
mlockett@unc.edu
919-843-9440
919-962-2388 (fax)
Kenan C348
Matthew Lockett
Meek, Simon Assistant Professor
Organic Synthesis, Organometallic Chemistry, Catalysis
sjmeek@unc.edu
919-962-0359
919-962-2388 (fax)
Venable Hall 1307
Simon Meek
Meyer, Gerald Professor
Synthetic chemistry, Spectroscopy, and Electrochemistry
gjmeyer@email.unc.edu
919-962-6320
919-962-2388 (fax)
Murray Hall 2202B
Gerald Meyer
Meyer, Thomas Arey Distinguished Professor of Chemistry
Solar Energy Conversion & Artificial Photosynthesis
tjmeyer@email.unc.edu
919-843-8313
919-962-2388 (fax)
Murray Hall 2202F
Thomas Meyer
Miller, Alexander Assistant Professor
Energy Catalysis, Synthetic Organometallic Chemistry, Metal-Ligand Cooperation
ajmm@email.unc.edu
919-962-4618
919-962-2388 (fax)
Kenan A400
Alexander Miller
Moran, Andrew Associate Professor
Spectroscopy and Dynamics in Condensed Phases; Nonlinear Optics
ammoran@email.unc.edu
919-962-0289
919-962-2388 (fax)
Caudill 120
Andrew Moran
Moy, Cheryl Lecturer
Chemistry Education, Laboratory and Course Curriculum Development
cmoy@email.unc.edu
919-962-3804
919-962-2388 (fax)
Kenan C147E
Cheryl Moy
Murray, Royce Kenan Professor of Chemistry
Electrochemistry, Molecular Design, Sensors
rwm@email.unc.edu
919-962-6296
919-962-2388 (fax)
Kenan C342
Royce Murray
Nicewicz, David Assistant Professor
Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Catalysis, Natural Product Synthesis
nicewicz@unc.edu
919-843-9150
919-962-2388 (fax)
Murray Hall 2202G
David Nicewicz
Papanikolas, John Professor
Ultrafast Spectroscopy of Nanomaterials and Interfaces
john_papanikolas@unc.edu
919-962-1619
919-962-2388 (fax)
Caudill 118
John Papanikolas
Parr, Robert William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Theoretical Chemistry
Wassily Hoeffding Professor of Chemical Physics
Density Functional Theory, Quantum Mechanics
rgparr@email.unc.edu
919-962-1577
919-962-2388 (fax)
TBA
Robert Parr
Pedersen, Lee Professor
Theoretical and Computational Chemistry
lee_pedersen@unc.edu
919-962-1578
919-962-2388 (fax)
Kenan A227
Lee Pedersen
Pielak, Gary Glen H. Elder Jr., Distinguished Term Professor of Chemistry, Biochemistry and Biophysics; Vice Chair of Facilities
Protein Biophysics Emphasizing Studies in Living Cells
gary_pielak@unc.edu
919-962-4495
919-962-2388 (fax)
GSB 3250
Gary Pielak
Ramsey, Mike Minnie N. Goldby Distinguished Professor of Chemistry
Microfabricated Chemical Instrumentation, Microfluidics, Nanofluidics
jmramsey@unc.edu
919-962-7492
919-962-2388 (fax)
Chapman 251
Michael Ramsey
Redinbo, Matthew Kenan Distinguished Professor
Chemistry, Biochemistry and Microbiology
Understanding Human Disease using Structural and Chemical Biology
redinbo@unc.edu
919-962-4581
919-962-2388 (fax)
GSB 4350
Matthew Redinbo
Rubinstein, Michael John P. Barker Distinguished Professor
Polymer Theory and Computer Simulations
mr@unc.edu
919-962-3544
919-962-2388 (fax)
Caudill 159
Michael Rubinstein
Samulski, Edward Cary C. Boshamer Professor of Chemistry
Structure and Dynamics of Liquid and Polymer Crystals
et@unc.edu
919-962-1561
919-962-2388 (fax)
Caudill 161
Edward Samulski
Schauer, Cynthia Associate Professor
Inorganic, Energy, Computational
schauer@unc.edu
919-962-0808
919-962-2388 (fax)
Murray Hall 2202C
Cynthia Schauer
Schoenfisch, Mark Professor; Director of Graduate Studies
Analytical Sensors, Biomaterials & Nanoparticle Therapeutics
mhs@unc.edu
919-843-8714
919-962-2388 (fax)
Caudill 318
Mark Schoenfisch
Sheiko, Sergei George A. Bush, Jr. Distinguished Professor
Polymer Materials, Molecular Fluidics, and Atomic Force Microscopy
sergei@email.unc.edu
919-843-5270
919-962-2388 (fax)
Caudill 157
Sergei Sheiko
Soper, Steve Professor
Micro and Nanofabricated Tools for Biological Discovery and Medical Diagnostics
ssoper@email.unc.edu
919-843-5575
919-966-2963 (fax)
Mary Ellen Jones 906A
Steve Soper
Spremulli, Linda Professor; Vice Chair for Education
Protein Synthesis of Mammalian Mitochondria
linda_spremulli@unc.edu
919-966-1567
919-962-2388 (fax)
Venable Hall 1305
Linda Spremulli
Templeton, Joseph Francis Preston Venable Professor of Chemistry
Vice Chair of Education
Organometallic Chemistry
joetemp@unc.edu
919-966-4575
919-962-2388 (fax)
Kenan C448
Joseph Templeton
Thompson, Nancy Professor
Molecular Dynamics at the Biological Cell Surfaces
nlt@unc.edu
919-962-4493
919-962-6714 (fax)
GSB 3252
Nancy Thompson
Tiani, Domenic Research Assistant Professor
Chemistry Education, Lab Curriculum Development
tiani@email.unc.edu
919-962-1616
919-962-2388 (fax)
Kenan B128
Domenic Tiani
Warren, Scott Assistant Professor
2-D Materials, Nanoparticle Electronics, Supramolecular Design, Solar Energy
scw@email.unc.edu
919-966-0994
919-962-2388 (fax)
Kenan A808
Scott Warren
Waters, Marcey Professor
Bioorganic Chemistry, Molecular Recognition
mlwaters@email.unc.edu
919-843-6522
919-962-2388 (fax)
Caudill 219
Marcey Waters
Weeks, Kevin Kenan Distinguished Professor
Structural and Chemical Biology of the Transcriptome
weeks@unc.edu
919-962-7486
919-962-2388 (fax)
GSB 3258
Kevin Weeks
Wightman, Mark W.R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Chemistry; Director of Undergraduate Studies
Ultramicroelectrodes, Electrochemistry, Neurochemistry
rmw@unc.edu
919-962-1472
919-962-2388 (fax)
Caudill 339
R Wightman
Wolfenden, Richard Alumni Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, Biochemistry and Biophysics
Kinetics of Enzymatic Reactions
richard_wolfenden@med.unc.edu
919-966-1203
919-962-2388 (fax)
Richard Wolfenden
You, Wei Associate Professor; Vice Chair for Research
Organic/Polymer Synthesis, Solar Cells, Molecular Electronics/Spintronics
wyou@unc.edu
919-962-6197
919-962-2388 (fax)
Kenan C540
Wei You